P nic n the p rk

Michelle lives in Cherry Hinton to the east of Cambridge. We met for a picnic in a park that is quieter and more chilled than those in the city centre. The sun was strong and it was perfect lolling on the grass.

I caught some of the Wimbledon men's and World Cup finals in the afternoon although I drifted in and out of sleep due to the heat. The tennis would have been more compelling if Nadal had made the final as he and Djokovic were so brilliantly matched in their epic semi-final. I've become less interested in football over the years from the days when I used to watch Stoke when I was at college, but I've been tracking the World Cup. The whole game would be more enjoyable if the majority of players displayed more integrity around injuries, or rather the faking of them. There are some amazing displays of intricacy with the ball, and some utterly pathetic attempts to gain advantage by rolling around like some hammy actor.

I ironed a week's worth of shirts in the evening. I don't know when I became an ironer. It's crept upon me with a surprising amount of stealth.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.