misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

Remembering...

Here we remember this day as Veterans' Day.
I hanged this flag early this morning at first light after I got inspired by TimeandSpace's blip of red poppies. I possibly should have waited for better light, but it's out and proud now.

You may notice this flag does not have 50 stars. It is like the flag waving in my village when we became an actual "village" and New York became a state: 1789 (I think). It is also the flag with the same configuration that flew over Ft. mcHenry in 1814 when Francis Scott Key wrote the 'Star Spangled Banner' (our impossible to sing national anthem) as the U.S. withstood bombardment from the British warships in Baltimore's harbor. And we either won that war or both sides simply collapsed and went home to become friends forever. that's my version of history...

And thanks to all those vets living now for their commitment to their country and people.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.