Keep Calm and Swim On

By ciabella

Natural Element

Seeing an athlete in their natural element, is like seeing an animal in its natural habitat. For a swimmer, our "habitat" is a pool. The moment when any athlete sees/meets their idol in that sport is amazing. For me, that idol would be Missy Franklin and that sport would be swimming.

This morning as my mom read the paper, she told me Missy broke a national record in the 200 backstroke. It was in the sports section of the StarTribune, and as she read on, she learned that the Grand Prix was here. In Minnesota. In Minneapolis. At the University of Minnesota Aquatic Center.

I, in typical teenage fashion, start jumping up and down, dancing, screaming, and blabbering on about how I had the opportunity to meet my idol, Missy Franklin. She continues to read, only to learn that Ryan Lochte. Yes, the Ryan Lochte, and a few other Olympians would be at the meet. I was SO excited, and insisted that we go.

I also had a meet today, and while I didn't achieve a 21.14 in my 50 yard freestyle (I achieved a 30.39) I did quite well. After my meet, my mom took me to the Grand Prix. I was ecstatic. I saw Missy and I was convinced that my life was complete. After she dominated in a 50 yard freestyle final, and the 100 yard backstroke final, she was sitting next to her team by the bleachers. I asked her if she would sign my swim cap, and she said she would, after her relay and after she warmed-down. I said ok, and she apologized profusely.

Now let me fill you in on Missy: She competed in the 2016 Olympics at the age of 17. She chose to not go pro, so she could swim in college. In the fall, she will be attending University Of California Berkeley. She is a high school senior, taking all AP classes(AP=Advanced Placement.) She swims for the Colorado Stars (a club team,) and her High School. She is my idol, in swimming and out. She still make time for friends and family, and went prom dress shopping during a break in a meet.
In the end, I did not get her autograph, but will hopefully return to the meet tomorrow. Ryan Lochte TOUCHED MY HAND! I was quite excited about that :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.