the colour green

By jukeys

river japes

Back down to the river this morning with the girls. It was brilliant craic. They went down a really steep slope to get to the river but I decided to go on up a bit to find an easier route down. I found an easy route, but once I got to the riverbank, it was so muddy I ended up sunk right up to my knees in mud! haha. My flip flops were lost forever and I had to crawl out on all fours to stop myself sinking down anymore :)

The water was so gorgeous. Clear and fast-running. Bizzy stayed in the whole time. Marie-Claire and Sarah spent a lot of time on the bank making little pools for their imaginary spa! I even got a few hot river stones placed on my shoulders and some mud put on my legs because it’s good for the skin! :)

Unfortunately I had to go to work at 5pm - just as the World Cup final started. France and Croatia played well but I do think France were the deserving side. To win 4-2 is pretty amazing! Thankfully my boss agreed with me that it would be a good idea to put a TV in the Reception area so that holidaymakers who didn’t have a telly in their house could come and see the match at Reception. I watched it with a lovely French family. I remember France winning in 1998 and I was telling the wee boy that he’d remember the day when he was older too.

Got back to the house and Pierre had the sausages already on the barbie! Him, his mate Yannick, and dad had watched the match together. We had a few drinks and had a gorgeous dinner of merguez, nyons olive sausages, tomato salad, and potato salad. Yum!

Dad left around 9.30pm and then Yannick’s girlfriend came round with her friend, Anne. We all sat out chatting on the terrace until quite late. It was lovely.

After everyone left, Pierre and I put some blankets out on the terrace and laid down to look at the stars. I don’t know why we’ve never done that before. It was beautiful. We’re certainly making the most of our last wee while in the house.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.