Not Far From Wherever

By ensea

Commute.


I had a bit of a surprise when I went out earlier today and encountered a gigantic raccoon hanging out on the sidewalk, I am familiar with this raccoon and its family but seeing it during the day was a bit of a shock.  I stuck close to the building and stood still - the last thing I wanted to do was scare it, thankfully it decided to go back down the storm drain.  I'm wondering if the babies might be ready to leave the nest.  Last year there was quite a big litter of kits, they were SO cute but I was terrified they'd be run over, we are located on a main drag through downtown, sheesh.  Raccoons are savvy urbanites but I'd hoped this pair had chosen a better spot this year but it doesn't seem so.  We're close to a creek, perfect Raccoon neighborhood, just wish them well making the two block journey with their cute little babies.  If I'm lucky enough to get a decent shot of them emerging I will update my blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.