Guildford

I took the Park and Ride to Guildford this morning and had a potter in the shops where there were lots of Sales rails. I did treat myself. I sat for a while, people watching, fascinated by what people wear (or don't wear!) in the hot weather. I treated myself to lunch in Wagamama's, noisy but so tasty!
Half way up Guildford's attractive High Street sits The Angel Hotel whose frontage can hardly have changed over the last couple of hundred years. But instead of coaches and horses in the street outside there are throngs of shoppers. The street is pedestrianised so the people spill out onto the steep highway with its granite setts.
Our speaker at WI tonight is to talk about the history of Guildford shops, so maybe I should go back tomorrow as well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.