The courgette that never was

I always grow tomatoes, courgettes, cucumber and runner beans in my small garden. With the wait for my garden make-over (will he ever come?) I didn't plant them all this year. I bought one tomato plant and one courgette plant to grow in pots so that I'd be able to move them when the work starts. 

I thought that the courgette plant was a  bit slow to produce fruit. The reason became apparent - it was a cucumber!  The leaves are very similar as they're the same family but I can't imagine why it didn't dawn on me that the flowers were different!

It's thriving in it's pot and there are lots of little cucumbers growing on the plant. Today I had the first one and it was delicious. I'd never have risked a cucumber in a pot so it has worked out well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.