Oh, Those Beautiful Golden Bales!

You'll remember me when the west wind moves upon the fields of barley
You'll forget the sun in his jealous sky as we walk in fields of gold

I have been watching them like a hawk for the past few days. The beautiful golden bales are sitting in a farm field next to the building where I work, and I adore them. They are so round and pretty, lined up in a neat row that stretches to the horizon. Clearly, it is time to make hay while the sun shines.

Why have I been keeping an eye on them? Because those darn farmers these days, they're so quick to corral those beautiful bales and take them inside. You know, to put them in a barn or something where they will stay dry until it's time for animals to eat the hay.

But I say No No No! The adoring public LOVES to see the golden bales. So, farmers, please let them sit, under these beautiful skies and rolling hills; under the summer sun beating down; in this world full of blue and gold.

And as I walk among the bales for picture taking, the stubble that's left touches my legs. And it reminds me of when I was a little girl, and I kissed my father's face, and the texture of his beard stubble would make me laugh. Yes, beautiful like that.

The soundtrack song is a favorite: Sting, with Fields of Gold. As a bonus, here's a beautiful cover by Eva Cassidy. The quote above is from the song.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.