Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Garnqueen

Back blip

A strange thing happened while I was at church on Sunday morning - it rained! Unusually for a Scottish summer, this was the first rain we had experienced for several weeks and it was the topic of much conversation.

Oddly, it was a joy to stand out in the rain after so many weeks of dry, warm, sunny weather. It was rather unfortunate for the 'walker' in me that the rain got rather more persistent and heavy as the day wore on but, undaunted, I drove down to Glenboig later in the afternoon for a short walk around the Village Park, of which Garnqueen Loch is the focal point.

As it was still quite warm, and as I thought that the rain was easing off (it wasn't!) I hadn't bothered to wear a rain jacket, so my photographic activities were carried out while wrestling both with a compact camera and telescopic umbrella. Obviously out of practice!

For those people who pointed out that Sunday was also St Swithin's Day, I was rather pleased that the legend of the good saint's day did not carry forward into Monday. We had our day of rain, but are happy to revert to the sunshine after it passed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.