apulseintheeternalmind

By AnthonyBailey

The Hostile Environment

...Labour Party, Brixton Hill

...'The piece of advice that was hardest to swallow was this: “Try to be ‘Jamaican’ – use local accents and dialect (overseas accents can attract unwanted attention)”. How was I supposed to “be Jamaican”? I had not set foot on the island since I was a child. Who was going to help me learn to be Jamaican? My mum and my support network were in England. “Try to be Jamaican.” They don’t know how hard that is.'
Michelle Blake, Guardian

...'The guide details the extent of the sprawling web of immigration controls now embedded at the heart of the UK’s public services and communities. It reveals the shattering impact these have had on vulnerable families, public servants and the wider public – and explains how people can take positive action to challenge them.'
Liberty

Detention Action Supporting people in detention - campaigning for change

Brixton Community Base An Arts community centre in the heart of Brixton

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.