Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Glare

Not the best photo from the evening, but I was entertained by the formation salute to the glare of the setting sun. A few more images  are attached to my mini match report tweet.

Thackley were hosting Steeton in another pre-season friendly so I walked across the valley for a diverting evening.

Since I last saw them at Salts at the tail end of last season Steeton have been confirmed as making the big step up into the expanded North West Counties League (NWCL). They'll be ground sharing with Keighley Cougars so I'll try to get along and catch them there at some point. Tonight's game was fairly even, just a penalty for Thackley separating the two teams.

I'm beginning to strike up one or two acquaintances who, like me, frequent the local non-league football clubs. Tonight I discovered that for a couple of years in the 1990s I'd actually lived next door to one of them, but then pretty much every young professional or student in Newcastle has lived in one of the tiny flats on Wingrove Road at some point.  Still, small world and all that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.