Forest Fire

I was driving inland this evening, listening to the news on my way to a Tai Chi training session.  The news was mostly about the forest fires burning all around Sweden. Then I saw smoke coming up from the distant forest so I diverted towards the fire and soon found myself in the centre of Ljustorp village, from where I took this picture.
This fire is a fairly minor event at the moment because there's no wind and the fire is spreading slowly up the hill, away from the village.
In contrast I saw a short film on the news, taken from a helicopter. As far as you could see the forest was burning, not as a giant conflagation but as many, many smaller fires.  Apparently £60 million worth of forest is burning, or has burned in the last few days.
Several villages have been evacuated in different parts of Sweden but so far it is still only the trees that are burning, and there  have been no deaths or serious injuries.
When I drove home after Tai Chi the pillar of smoke from Ljustorp had disappeared so hopefully that was one fire less to worry about.
There is some rain forecast in the next few days, amounting to about 4 mm but really we need a lot more than that to stop these fires.  I never thought I'd be hoping for rain as much as I am just now!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.