Hollyhock

Many years ago we had been staying for the weekend with our Cotswold friends. As we left, Paul gathered a handful of hollyhock seeds for me from the plants growing against the wall of their pretty stone cottage. I scattered them in my garden, and every year since I have been rewarded with two or three lovely plants. They are usually this pretty dark red, and are a happy reminder of our dear friends. We are saying with them again in a few weeks' time, I wonder what seeds or cuttings I can bring back this time.
I have been gardening this afternoon, pottering gently in the very dry soil. It has been a dark heavy day but still no sign of rain. A few months ago we were complaining about the cold and wet. We go from one extreme to the other. Our weather is never boring, that is why we are always talking about it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.