Meanwhile, at the coast..

By meancoast

A day for remembering......

.....my Dad, he died 32 years ago today but I still miss him.......yes, even our arguments ;-) This was the first time (as far as I can tell!) that he had his photo in the paper (he was captured at Dunkirk and was a prisoner of war, eventually ending up in Poland after several less than successful escape attempts, for the duration).....he hit the press a lot more in later, happier days when he was Chief Fire Officer for Tyne and Wear in the 70's (he gave up on the barbering when he was demobbed ;-) ) I was on holiday in a rented cottage on Orkney when he died and they had to send the police out to find us (it was long before the days of mobile phones) and I had to travel back alone for the funeral.....one of the most surreal journeys of my life...... 

EDIT :: Just found a pic of the very barbers shop that my Dad used to work in, it's the wooden Coop establishment on the left in the extra I've just added ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.