Life, a daring adventure!

By Citril

Work ~ Pleasure or Pain

Our latest task for OU studies was to write a piece based on Work ~ Pleasure or Pain. I don't know about my fellow students but I found this to be a really interesting topic to consider. I will leave you to ponder what my submission said! ;)

Anyway, I am at work today covering a colleague's annual leave. Sadly I had to miss out on seeing Charis stand in the guard of honour with Lord Provost Alex Graham ~ so proud of her and what a great experience for her! She stood to attention in the freezing cold for over 35 minutes as the Provost took the salute! Feel bad that I didn't put her long sleeved thermals on as she has had an awful hacking cough. Very grateful to Mum coming all the way North just for that and to Ali & bump (I'm sure it's a girl!!) joining Andrew & Niamh to watch the parade. They said there was a huge turn out! Remembrance Sunday is always special to our family as we honour the memory of my Great Gramps Gunner William Harvey who gave his life on 1st Nov 1944 in street fighting to liberate Flushing in Holland.

The photo is my pleasure at work ~ strong coffee in my newest coffee thermos, all the way from our US 'family'. And as I type we are awaiting the imminent arrival of the newest member of our US family as her Mom pushes through her contractions to bring her beautiful Rainbow girl into the world!

A Rainbow is a symbol of God's Promise that there will be beauty after the storm and that the storm will never overcome us. A Rainbow baby is the beauty of new life after the grief of a lost baby. So I'm here at work eagerly awaiting every update!!! 38 minutes ago the contractions were getting more frequent and stronger!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.