You know where.

So a morning train Oxford to London where Matty had migrated to yesterday evening(don't ask we can sleep anywhere). I met up with him and his young lady Shannon for lunch which was all lovely. They fancied a bit of culture so we we went to the British Museum (Shannon walks past every day and hadn't been in yet). She got all excited by the Canadian totem poles, so I took her to the North American bit to help her feel at home.
"Where does this all come from?" She mused, "largely pilfered by us Brits" was my reply. I then felt maybe I'd misrepresented us Brits, but as we checked out the Rosetta Stone I found out it was the French who first pilfered it, but after we won the Napoleonic wars we assumed ownership, it's like an episode of an Indiana Jones movie. Despite all this nonsense I really love this museum.
Early evening I had a plan to go to westminister cathedral to blip the remembrance garden there, but couldn't get in, so went and sat with Winston across the road and pondered it all. War is all a kind of madness, but the sacrifice and courage of our armed forces is something that makes me proud as well as sad, and today I think is not a celebration of war, but a remembrance of that sacrifice and courage.
Today's blip is a touristy shot from the steps up to westminister bridge which was doubling up as the United Nations of tripod and cameras this evening, including German, Japanese and French folks, so maybe peace does have a chance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.