Wrong Plant?

Three of my large deck pots had plants sprouting up tall and healthy; I wasn't sure what they were but I was hoping they were milkweed because I wanted the butterflies to lay their eggs on it. Well, it is blooming now and it seems that it is Swamp Milkweed.....Yea!.....but wait a minute, I read on line today that Monarch Butterflies favor these plants for laying their eggs, BUT I haven't seen a Monarch around my house for years. We have Western Tiger Swallowtails and they are indifferent to Milkweed. What? Really? It seems they prefer to lay their eggs in trees, like a willow tree. I guess I am out of luck if I want to raise the release butterflies like Debbi does! 

Oh well, the flowers are pretty and the long 3 foot stems are strong as they sway in the wind. Pretty flowers to, right?

I worked in the yard......actually decided to totally remove several things that have become to large for their space. Edit....edit.....edit is my motto for the yard and house right now.   :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.