Allotment Open Day

Today was the Rippingale allotments open day.  Duty bound we popped round for a look and a burger, and some fresh veg.
 
Mrs W said “There is only one punnet of raspberries left.”
 
“No problem” says I “I’ll get them with the rest of the veg when we leave.”
 
Ok – I know when I’m in trouble!
 
(We had some blackcurrants instead, however . . . )
 
 
Historical point – Mrs W and I joined up with a couple of others back in 2004 and kicked off the reinstatement of the Rippingale allotments that were, at the time, being farmed.  This quickly gathered momentum to the thriving allotments we have now.  Unfortunately I had to give up committee work in 2006 due to Ill health, and when Pauline’s RA came on in 2011 we had to give up allotmenteering altogether.  We just potter now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.