And it's another ....

... collage!

Today was overcast and quite a bit cooler than the past few days .... a little out of character for July!

We left the house earlier than usual on a Saturday as we wanted to go to a community yard sale in Bath, PA.  We walked around here for a bit ... only buying a couple of things. 

Then it was on to Jacobsburg State Park ..... we love it here! 

I stationed myself near the hummingbird feeder and was rewarded almost immediately with the beautiful male Ruby-throated Hummingbird in the upper left! Isn't he stunning!  We rarely get the males at our feeders at home so this was quite a treat!

After spending just a little bit more time at the hummingbird feeder we went over to the frog pond and bird blind area of the park. There were a few frogs out and I was surprised when R pointed out this one sitting on a rock in full view! They are usually submerged up to their necks in the pond!

Today seems to be the day for seeing and posting Clearwing hummingbird moths!  And we were lucky enough to also see some! Funny thing is I was thinking of these hummingbird moths as we were walking back to the frog pond .... hoping that we would see some!

And ..... there they were!  At least a half a dozen of them!  The two I have in my collage are different varieties. The lower left picture is a hummingbird clearwing Hemaris thysbe. And the lower right is a Snowberry clearwing hawk moth!  I just love them! Unfortunately, we don't see them often in our own backyard. The last time I saw and blipped one of these from my own yard was August 2011!

After leaving Jacobsburg we went back to the wildflower field to check things out there.  That's where my background picture was taken. It's a black swallowtail butterfly .... the first one I've seen this year!

We had a wonderful day together!! ♥♥♥

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.