Where the Light Gets In

By DHThomas

Chris Marker

photogrammes exposed
chris marker exhibition
one of my favourite

La Jetée is one of my favourite films of all time.

A few months ago I won a ticket to visit the Chris Marker retrospective on show at the Cinémathèque Française. I couldn't very well leave Paris without seeing it, especially as it closes soon.

A wonderful few hours spent there, with the bonus of watching La Jetée on a big screen, which had only happened once before for me.

Back to Cyrille's for pizza and beer while watching Vertigo. I requested it because there is a scene in Vertigo that La Jetée alludes to, namely the sequoia section scene where Kim Nowak tells James Stewart: "I was born here... and died here", showing two points on the tree section. In La Jetée, the main character shows the woman he met, before another tree section, a point outside the section and tells her: "I come from here".

La Jetée in turn inspired Terry Gilliam to film Twelve Monkeys. There's a bar in Tokyo called La Jetée...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.