rainbowsparklie

By rainbowsparklie

Pull out all the stops

Tonight my choir performed Duruflé's Requiem (Op. 9). Duruflé was a master organist, so the organ features prominently. Well when I say feature, I mean it is own masterpiece separate to and far from accompanying the choral parts.

It is quite a work for a local community choir to pull off. Months of toil and a worryingly cringable final rehearsal. But when it came to the moment, we did pull out most of the stops. The requiem is a piece I really had to listen to many times in order before 'getting it'. I have found it harder to grasp than any other requiems we have dared to tackle. But having had my ipod surgically attatched to my ear and 'Duffle' on constant loop over the past month it slowly came together in my mind and I started to enjoy it.

My favourite movement is the Pie Jesu. Simply because I got to listen in wonder to Katlin, our soloist. As well as take a breather from having to concentrate on an ever changing time signature and enjoy something that I hadn't learnt by rote.

We also sang the more confortable yet simply divine Cantique de Jean Racine composed by Fauré.

Next week, Christmas carol season starts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.