Sleepless in Settle

The only reason I made it this far today was because I named my ride at 3am. At least I still had a sense of humour!  And a plan.

I'd realised at 1.30am that my bigger ride wasn't going to happen so I switched my alarm off then.

"You won't be able to cycle after eating that lot!" scoffed a lovely gentleman as he left Ye Olde Naked Man cafe (in a suit if you were wondering). When I told him I had a hill to do, he laughed and left with a, "God help you!"

Well, it wasn't the only time I was looked after today.  On the last run home to Bolton Abbey, I saw a great black pom pom heading at full speed towards my head.  It whacked into my ear with force.

I paused my pedals in semi-controlled anticipation, waiting for it to go.

It did not.  

I stopped fairly rapidly with what I thought was a bee still lodged in my ear.  The last time this happened, a bumble was wedged on the top of my glasses and, as I ripped my glasses off, I got stung on the eyelid.  So, you can imagine I was a bit wary.

With determined managed behaviour but a quickening of the heart, I paused and thought.  I wondered if it really was still there but was sure I could sense it. Nothing moved.  Desperately trying not to poke it with my finger to check, I gingerly took off my helmet hoping that would encourage it away.  

But no.

Step 2.  iPhone camera.  Without taking a photo, I could see something sizeable reflecting in the screen but wasn't able to tell what it was.  So I reversed the camera and took a photo. Trouble was, it was too bright to see.  So I texted Rich, then Liz with the photo.

At the very same moment of texting Liz the photo and asking what the was in my ear, there was a loud buzz, a distinct vibration and off he went.  

I think he was just a little stunned.  A bit like me!  And yes indeed, it was a bumbler.

Apart from rolling right through some highland coo poo, these fellas were no bother at all.

And that was the end of my own little feature movie.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.