Bob's Photo of the Day

By WetCoastBob

Remembrance Day

November 11th is the day we honour those who have given their lives for the ideals of their culture.

I always think of my father who served in WWII. He was on the force that invaded Sicily. A pacifist, he made a point of being a bad shot during training. Dad became a mechanic during the war, but he certainly had some entertaining moments behind the fighting lines.

The best part was after the war ended he found himself in a little town in the Netherlands where he met my mother. In 1948 Mom emigrated to Canada to and they married. It was a life-long romance. Dad died in 2001 but Mom is still soldiering on!

Dad was an active Legion member concerned with the well-being of other Veterans. I never heard him say a bad word about anyone. He was a saint. I was so lucky to have him as a father!

More Remembrance Day images.

Photo of Dad & Mom

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.