Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Venus and star gazers at the pink obelisk

I have blipped the obelisk on top of The Hill before.  It was erected in 1850 as a navigational marker.  Prior to that there had been a windmill which was used by the sailors.  When they got rid of it there was a near mutiny and the obelisk was built.  It was coloured pink tonight.  I have no idea why and it will have to go into the mystery bag along with the fountain which was coloured blue the other day.  There were a group of people stargazing.  Mars was rising behind me and you can see Venus setting here above the obelisk and to the left.

I had in mind a shot for mono Mondays challenge of envy.  There is a rather grand house near here with 360 degree views of Newcastle but I couldn't resist this coloured shot of the obelisk.  I have put a car up in the extra I saw in Melbourne on Saturday as a nod to si_b  which might just fit the envy bill for some blippers.  Personally I find those cars ridiculous to get in and out of.  I drove the Great Ocean road with a friend many years ago in a low sports car and felt like Patsy and Eddy of Ab Fab after a drunken binge as it was easier to fall out of the car up to the pavement (yes it was so low it was up to the pavement) rather than try and get out graciously.....but that is another story.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.