Temperance

Continuing the July Mono Monday theme of Vice and Virtue hosted by si_b I decided on another Virtue, this time, Temperance.  

With the heatwave we're currently undergoing the advice is always "drink plenty of liquids".  Well this leaves the field fairly open but I have decided to stick to water rather than alcohol. There is nothing particularly virtuous about this as far as I'm concerned, just a personal choice, but it did bring to mind the Temperance Movement of the 19th century, a fairly widespread organisation leading to prohibition in the USA.  

William Hogarth produced two prints in 1751, Beer Street and Gin Lane, see Wikiplace which I saw when visiting his house in Chiswick. Gin Lane represents the evils of gin addiction whilst Beer Street offered an alternative approach to 'sensible' drinking ie Beer. So next time you have a G&T.......incidentally Gin is the only alcohol I won't drink, having had an unfortunate experience with a little excess whilst I was quite young, late teens (I think), also tonic water gives me heart palpitations.

I'll have to find a Vice next week as the rules state, at least one from each list, hmm…...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.