Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

The family came by

I took this photo of the deer family late yesterday afternoon as they all came so close to the house.  I was sitting on the rocker on the front porch and they were about 50 ft (15meters) away from me.   That is the closest I have ever been.   So my diligence and patience have paid off.   

I am so grateful to be close to nature and these wild animals.      They are still very spooked with noises from the road and will run if they don't like what they hear.  I have been talking to them too!   They will look at me for just a few seconds and make eye contact but mostly I look down first so they don't feel threatened.      I would love to be able to sit on the ground and get them to be even closer.    

The dog has her moments with them.  I will take her out on the leash at 6:30 so she does not chase them as they startle her by being in the yard.  We walk out the front yard away from the deer and then around to the area where Gypsy does her thing.   Then we walk back up to the front porch.  Sometimes the deer will move away behind the tree line and usually come back out once we are on the porch.  Sometimes we sit and watch them.  The dog does not bark and as long as I tell her it is okay she will lie down by the step and just watch them.     Most of the time she goes back in the house because she is not really concerned with them once she realizes that she has seen them before.   

I hope they will keep coming around so I can watch the babies lose their spots.  We have a total of 11 deer coming now with the new doe and her single baby.    

Thanks to si_b for hosting mono monday.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.