An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

My Golden Tree

After seemingly spending half the night, very early yesterday morning, taking only about three extended time exposures, one becoming my blip, rattling off mere 30 second exposures just now seemed like the fastest motor drive, in comparison.

Even 30 second exposures were an extreme rarity before Blip beckoned me, they now seem like routine, almost. Hell, I've (almost) got used to wrestling with the complex Manfrotto three-way-head on the tripod, which at best, is akin to wrestling with an octopus having an epileptic fit...

So, the wonderful big tree right outside my flat still looks fab with its golden cloak of autumn and with rain due later, thought I'd get even more shots of it. At night, it is partly lit by the bright security light on the wall, provided so that residents don't sue the tenants because they can't see at night and this provided the bulk of the light in the foreground, here.

That Boathouse pub is in the background, reflected in the river and the best I could get, as the tripod was at its very lowest setting and is lit by latent streetlamp glow. It all comes out nicely yellow, which I actually toned down.

The 16mm full-frame fisheye is most evident by the curvature of the straight wall alongside the river. I manually added a small amount of pincushion distortion to counteract the extreme barrel that's inherent in a fisheye, in Photoshop's lens distortion section.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.