Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Tick Tock

Following my brief encounter with Maggie's Penguin Parade last week, I made a return visit to Dundee today to have a proper look around the city centre to see how many more of these penguin sculptures I could find. (It's not too difficult as there is a printed leaflet and downloadable copies available.)

What I hadn't expected was the high level of design on some of these models (see main picture - the extra shows the front view of the same model) and also the number of people I met on my wander through the city who were involved in the same quest. The penguin trail has certainly caught the imagination and was a great topic of discussion!

There are 80 (at least) such models, mostly in Dundee but also in Perth, Brechin, Kirriemuir and St Andrew's, all designed to raise awareness of, and funds for, the Maggie's Cancer Care charity. After a few hours wandering around with map in hand, and with regular coffee breaks, I reckon I have spotted, and photographed, about 25 of them. I'll try not to put them all on Blipfoto!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.