Travels Through A Lens

By SnapshotSam

The Diving Belle

If the sun was going to shine today I wanted to make the 2.5 hour journey to Scarborough as I was seriously in need of some air and big blue sky and big blue sea having been stuck indoors all week, so that's what I did and it didn't disappoint. I want to move to Scarborough!

The statue is called The Diving Belle unveiled in May 2007, she represents the Scarborough of the present and was sculpted by artist Craig Knowles.

I love the composition of the lighthouse bringing seafarers safely home, a structure representing safety and power standing up against the forces of the sea and the female diver/swimmer arms out stretched getting ready to dive into the icy cold sea that has taken many a life yet is a giver of so much life.

Everywhere I looked was a picture waiting to be taken. I took pictures of the donkeys trekking up and the beach with the youngest generation loving every minute of such an old tradition, the funfair closed for winter, the amusement arcades open all seasons with their flashing lights enticing people to part with their pennies, the numerous cafes with so many signs showing their extensive menus, panoramas of the beach and the harbour, all the bright colours of the fishing boats and fishing lines, the sailing boats on the horizon, the Grand Hotel standing on the hill top silhouetted with the sun setting behind, the sand beneath my feet with the waves rolling in. Do you get the picture? :)

Anyway, this one stood out for me for what it represents!

I can't seem to find pictures in and around my usual haunts anymore. Have I photographed them to death or have I just been blinded by familiarity? I saw a great idea the other day where you photograph your home town as if you are a tourist. I think it's called 'home tourism'. I'm going to give that a go.

I will catch up with you this week :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.