Dippy on Tour

I kind of hate the name, but then I'm not the main target audience. The Diplodocus from the Natural History Museum in London is having an away stint in Birmingham's Museum for a while. As it happened, getting in there 10 minutes before closing was perfect because there was hardly anyone else there, so I managed a people-free shot.

It's an extraordinary being, though. Dug up in Nevada (I think) in about 1905 the size of the thing is breathtaking. I cannot imagine what meeting one of these would have been like. All 26 metres of it. It makes my head hurt. Dinosaurs aren't just for kids.

Also, kudos to the nice woman who let me in just as she was closing the door - "You only have a few minutes with Dippy". That was fine. It was awesome.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.