The Frenchman's House

The freshness and brightness had disappeared overnight - and the damp, muggy mizzle has swept in. Just as well for I can hardly move having spent a day in the garden yesterday. Indoor jobs today, including bracing myself for a day in school tomorrow where we shall be making bird cakes - just preparing my 'one I made earlier'. I was delighted to find some vegetarian suet but it's going to be messy.

I love this little house. It fits so perfectly into its surroundings and has sensational views down the bay and up into the mountains. It sits there unassumingly and at ease with itself and the landscape - unlike many monstrosities that are still being put up. No one lives there sadly but it's owned by Frenchman who is rumoured to have once had plans to make a marina below. He put new windows into the house and then vanished.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.