snailspace

By snailspace

Grand Frais

We had our first Grand Frais experience today. I am pleased that I took this snap through the windscreen as we approached as, when we entered the shop, there was a "Photography Prohibited" notice. What a very great shame because the sheer array of unusual produce on offer presented many photo opportunities. I was frustrated, to say the least.

Grand Frais is often discussed on the various ex-pat Facebook groups. Whenever they are mention there is immediate;y a division in the thread between "Wow, I just love Grand Frais, they are marvellous" type of comment and the somewhat more dour "Expensive!" types.

For now I am firmly on the WOW! side of this discussion, having met fruits and vegetables I have never even heard of, let alone seen before. The quality of the fresh fish was simply astounding, the butchery was fantastic and, best of all, I came home with some Halloumi after a months-long France-wide search.

This branch was in Poitiers, we hope to try the Limoges one soon.

I will write further on this subject on the Crooked House blog later., there is much to enthuse about.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.