Leiflife

By Leiflife

Summer Interlude

Into the midst of intense summer heat and faulty air conditioning, as my human family struggled to live and breathe despite, came a day of distraction. Distraction came in the form of a menage a trois of sorts. Two luna moths and a polyphemus found themselves engaging in passionate acts. A bizarre combination by human reckoning. Who knows in the moth world? 

Last year I photographed three polyphemus abandoned to the moment on a pine tree by my path. This was something different. In either case, it didn't end well for at least one of the competing males. At least by human standards... I admit that I was more appalled than fascinated this time. But then, I have always had romantic notions about the beautiful Luna. And the audience was rather large; photographing was a less than delightful prospect. Never the less, here they are, if only a curious distraction from human struggles. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.