Shutterup

By Shutterup

Driveway

It surprises me just how green and shady these trees are despite not a jot of rain since May 31st!!!  I was saddened to see the huge branch that has come off this magnificent tree.. such a lot of damage to it means it will probably get a rot deep inside it and compromise the whole tree.  

I had a go at my neighbour yesterday.. they bought their house about 5 years ago and told everyone they would live in it.. needless to say they don't and instead they rent it out to holiday makers.  That comes with all its own problems but at least they make an effort to make it look nice.  Somehow they try to make it look too nice and yesterday l had to voice my greivance over them sprinkling the lawn twice every day.  I tried to put it nicely when l saw the sprinkler going full tilt and water trickling out of the garden down onto the gravel courtyard.  I happened to see the owner there and commented on his 'nice green lawn'.  He came over saying 'yes, he seemed to have his very own rain shower helping him out!!'  I said that because he didnt live in the area he may not be aware that whilst there was not a ban on hosepipe use we had all be asked to use water wisely in order that we dont end up with a ban.  There are already people with low water pressure and here he was watering his lawn!!! (for guests)!!!   I think he got the message and hope his watering activities will not continue to the same extent.  I had heard that local farmers have only got two weeks irrigation water left and that lawns were really not a priority as the grass will recover as soon as we get any rain.  Am I turning into a grumpy old woman???  Having spent a weekend up in Cumbria where two of the houses we were staying had totally run out of water l am much more aware of how difficult it is if nothing comes out of your taps... we must conserve what we have and not squander it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.