A Writer's Life

By Awriterslife

Four!

My little man turned 4 today! How my life has changed in those 4 years. I’m a lot more tired than I was, but I laugh every single day, and my heart has expended, so much that some days, some moments, it feels like I might explode when I look at my two amazing sons. My sons. Having Olivier was a long shot, it felt at the time, a rather daring undertaking for someone who doesn’t like to make waves and is a bit afraid of everything. Tonight, as I was tucking him in, I told him I had dreamt about and for him for a long time, and waited a long time to be lucky enough to hold him in my arms. And he said: I told the lady in the train that I wanted to see my mommy, that I wanted to get to you.

Each day brings new conversations, moments when he is either funny or pensive, drawing on his imagination and our discussions to explore the world.

And today, for the first time, I took him to the movies, and almost cried watching him watch the movie.

Heart and arms full.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.