Sanctuary At Last!

This view of the 18th hole and, more importantly, the sanctuary of the clubhouse behind it has never been more welcome than it was at the end of this morning's round.

It wasn't so much the heat that Henri & I were keen to escape (though that was bad enough) but the torture of the way we were playing.

We'd both hit the ball anywhere except where we were meant to for most of the round. In my case, that was when I finally managed to hit it at all as my problems with taking the club back from the ball in order to hit it, which have never gone away but which I normally manage to cope with, came back with a vengeance and it was taking ages for me to be able to hit the ball. Ironically I had my best score and only par of the round here at the last.

In total, Henri & I notched up over 200 shots between us for the round while Phil went on in his normal, serene way.

Apparently, forthcoming changes to the rules of golf mean that you have to hit each shot within 40 seconds, presumably of addressing the ball. Phil & Henri reckon I'll be disqualified before I get off the first tee:)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.