Hummingbird Obsession

Well, it was more like obsessed Blippers as WRPerry and I made our first visit to the hummingbirds at the Patuxent River Wildlife Reserve.  We were delighted to find we were the only photographers and had the place to ourselves.  

I wanted so badly to get a shot of a male with its gorgeous neck feathers so I was pleased to find that there were plenty of males around.  That hasn't always been the case when we have been there other years.  Unfortunately, the males seem to be a lot faster than the females so are just that much harder to capture.  After 2 1/2 very intense hours in the heat and humidity, we were quite exhausted.  At home, as I started to go through the 100's of photos,  I felt quite weary.  I decided to put my head down for 20-30 minutes but several hours later... I discovered it's dinner time!

Looking forward to going back there again.  It took a little while to get the camera settings right and to get past feeling rusty, but I did finally hit a rhythm and I got a few good shots.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.