EvelyneNaylorC

By EvelyneNC

At the farmersmarket

no artificial fertilizer has caused these onions to grow this big - which surprised me. I always thought that produce that came from farmers markets was rather smallish, spotty and /or wrinkled. The opposite is true and they told me how they grow, which fertilizer they used etc. A pleasure for the eye and the mind.
I mostly buy mushrooms, which are farmed , like Maitake, Lions Mane , Oyster mushrooms etc. Not cheap but just in general I think that we should learn to pay for the extra effort that (mostly young) people put in non industrial farming. You cannot have eggs from healthy free roaming chicken and expect to pay 2,50 for a dozen. I also believe, that it would be way more healthy for our planet, if we all ate less meat and fish, maybe like in the 18 hundreds, when meat was for Sunday and fish for Friday. Why do we expect to have meat every day? It is so incredibly expensive to raise cattle just for meat. So many acres, so much water  go into the production of grains that are only used to feed the cattle.
I also don't expect to have every product on my table every day of the year, I am perfectly happy with seasonal products. I like to can a lot, so even in winter I have access to my own good tomato sauces. I wouldn't mind to go back a bit in time, when it comes to food.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.