Ancestry

After a day of torrential rain and a migraine that wouldn't shift I wasn't sure if i would have a blip to post however....I took a short walk to our ancestral home and found what I was looking for. (Sadly I had no internet until now so I'm posting it a day late).

The photo shows the plough my Great Grandfather used to use as he worked the land many years ago. I love the way time has interwoven itself through the plough. Weeds weave themselves through it like the stories told and woven through the generations. Stories like the one about the house where my Granny was born, further down the field, which later became the cow shed.

I love visiting this island rich in family history and love. No matter how rusted and derelict something may look, the love that once went into it is not forgotten by the generations who carry the stories. The extra shows the now derelict walls of the house where my Great Great Grandmother used to live.

Marlieske thank you for the honourable mention in last week's challenge. You are too kind!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.