Cottingham

We went to see my sister, Beryl, this morning, arriving in time for morning coffee/tea.  After a nice chat and a look round her 'new' flat we took a country walk out of Cottingham ending up at the West Bulls pub/eatery.  It has been the hottest day of the heatwave and it was nice to get out of the sun and have a refreshing pint of Doom Bar. We had lunch there, vegetarian carvery, very nice.  From there we took a walk into Cottingham village centre and into the cool, air conditioned Costa.

After a drink and more chat we walked over to St Mary's Church, mainly because Beryl hadn't been in there before and I was looking for a blip. A group of young boys had taken their bikes into the church and propped the  against the pews. I don't think they were up to any mischief (a lady in the church was watching them) they were cheeky, quite chatty and wanting to use the camera which I guarded let one do. I took a pic as they were leaving, the slow shutter speed blurring their features to protect the innocent (!!).

I apologise to anyone who may find this picture disturbing, I can only assure all that whilst we were there they performed no damage, nor had any intention of doing so.  I felt it was encouraging to see kids voluntarily in a church, though maybe they should leave their bikes outside.

We had a little rain in Hull this morning, now, early evening, it's very heavy with thunder and lightning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.