Bluheron

By Bluheron

Happy Birthday!

A trip up the Yachats River to Keller Creek Park and away from the Pacific fog hovering at the ocean’s edge; past the old Carson place and the meadow where the Elk feed in the winter, past Brown’s meadow where we tossed forty pounds bales onto a flatbed hay wagon when I was in my twenties. The twists and turns into my past, until the familiar light penetrating the Alder and Fir as I shared shallow water flowing over basalt slabs and small stones colored by the tannin in the creek water at this small county park just beyond the Pykonnen place and over the bridge, returning with Kendall. How life folds back on itself and memories float to the surface, as they did yesterday for both Kendall and I. Today we orient to the future again, plugged in to the internet and thinking about tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.