A tent in a field

Well, actually it was a rather smart marquee - in a field, in Haworth, behind the Parsonage. This year is the bicentenary of Emily Brontë and this is the ‘Emily Birthday Weekend’, so it seemed appropriate for me to take part in a little bit of it.

We have friends who live in Haworth and they invited us to stay the night and this evening I went to an event to launch a book, which is a collection of short stories written by a range of writers who were commissioned to contribute, given the quotation from ‘Wuthering Heights’ - ‘I am Heathcliff’ as a starting point. It was an interesting evening chaired by Kate Mosse, who was joined by three of the contributors.

Before that we all went for a walk on the moors, very familiar territory, and had a lovely meal at a local pub. When I returned we sat outside for the whole of the rest of the evening - very warm, but no moon as it was far too cloudy. No rain either.

And the photo is the scene outside the tent venue where an official photographer was taking a picture of Kate Mosse and the three writers (I don’t know who they were, I’d never heard of them). And why they had taken their shoes off I don’t know either. (I did have some nice moorland views, but liked this as a blip better.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.