Blood Moon

OK, not that bloody anymore...

I spent almost 3 hours on a bench up in the fields. The camera didn't work properly (I think because of the heat - it got better when it cooled off a little). This is one of the better shots.
But the experience of sitting in the dark, watching the moon rise (after I found it with my binoculars!), looking at the stars (Mars war just bright red!) and twice watching the ISS move across the sky was priceless.  And a hint of the milky way - unbelievable for around here!
I arrived at the bench at exactly 9:30, about 1 1/2 km from home and had company on the bench until I left just after midnight. It was someone I knew, he had a much better camera than I did and I saw his much better photos.
At first there were lots of more people walking by, but just before midnight it was only the two of us. It was a bit spooky to walk home alone, but I had a flashlight and I'm home now, everything good and worth it. The idea of taking the car like many others never occurred to me. Saw the ISS the second time on the way home and now the moon as we know it is back.

I walked against a wall when I came back home - still 29°C in the rooms.
There will not be much sleep tonight. It is awful hot in here. All windows and doors open, but there is not the slightest breeze. I should have slept on that bench, now that I think about it...

00:45 and still a pleasent 21°C outside

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.