But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Tallisker Bay.

My Very Good Friend from Virginia, she with the fascination with my infrared camera very kindly invited me to join her (and a young lady friend from the holiday) on a guided tour of Skye. I had other plans, but the weather wasn't ideal for them, I enjoy MGF's company and I would find my way to some of the best sights on Skye. Even those I didn't like were worth visiting as they have gone onto my list of places not to visit again. Tallisker Bay was interesting with its textured sandy beach. The two views that I've used as the Blip and the first extra were almost quite good and could be spectacular in the right light, while there were a few others that might be o.k. another time. A major problem was the number of tourists, particularly Chinese families in people carriers who didn't know either how to drive on single track roads or how to make their vehicles go backwards when they'd overshot a clearly labelled passing place. I intend to come back to finish what I've started, just not in the holiday season.

The other interesting place on today's itinerary was the Secret Glen, within walking distance of our hostel. Again, there were several views of the water, The main feature (second extra) is tha waterfall; not shot with a dark filter but in a place that would have suited Eeyore. I do have one picture including the overly buxom lady who chose to bathe under the water fall but, decided that it might not be suitable for this audience.

After MGF had cooked me a meal, Mr MGF is a very lucky man, she took me up to the Fairy Glen where she had some fun with my IR camera. I suspect she will be modifying one of her own cameras sometime soon.

As I write this, a couple of weeks after leaving St Kilda, news has come through that the island has been evacuated as it has run out of water; there is stream water for the sheep, but none for the National Trust for Scotland volunteers to have their showers. I assume that that means that the military base is running on a skeleton staff drinking bottled water shipped out to them but no one else is allowed there: no day trippers, NTS staff or builders.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.