“A few years later, Control, Anton Corbijn’s film about Ian Curtis and Joy Division, was released. I was asked to DJ at the party following the Manchester premiere, which was at the Cornerhouse cinema. I was also invited to Paris to talk at a showing of the film at the Elysees Biarritz and to DJ afterwards.
They employed a warm-up DJ who played all the big Joy Division songs before I went on; she also threw in two or three big Cure records and ‘Blue Monday’ as well. The audience were very happy with this, but it left me without any obvious floorfillers to play. I’d arrived with a pretty good box of vinyl, though, so I took the chance to play stuff that wasn’t obvious,  but was definitely relevant. Things didn’t go well; ‘Dream Baby Dream’ by Suicide left only six or seven people on the dancefloor, but the coup de grace was ‘Nag Nag Nag’ by Cabaret Voltaire. The last person leaving the dancefloor actually had her hands over her ears.”

‘Sonic Youth Slept On My Floor’ by Dave Haslam

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.