Mouldy

By Mouldy

Summer's end?

It was certainly the beginning of the end of my tent! It's now flat: it was only the contents holding it up!
A guy rope snapped in the wind, and it being an Airbeam type, the frame folded in, due to the incredibly high winds this afternoon. I also acquired a couple of splits in the fabric.

One urgent phone call to #1 daughter, who was wrestling with a neighbour's errant gazebo at the time, and she arrived asap. My worldly goods are now stuffed into bags and boxes, and split between 2 cars. The tent is still on-site, along with the camping toilet and tent. It was doing a better job of staying upright!
I'll spend tomorrow morning sorting stuff and hopefully getting it into one car, and then I will take up the tent, preserving the undersheet, and also attend to the toilet.

The tent is now officially defunct.
However, as I kept it over this way, at the back of my daughter's pharmacy, where she keeps her big tent, she says I may as well just use theirs, as it has been last tent standing in storm force winds at scout camp!

Speaking of which, she had to let some visiting scouts into the hut this afternoon, as their tents had all collapsed too, on their site!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.