Cutlery...

I was a bit stuck for a blip tonight, mainly because I've been busy and I had planned to talk about altruism. Someone said recently that they thought that I was altruistic. I don't believe there is such a thing. Nor do I have any idea what sort of photo would go with that so I'm just going to throw it out there and see what you all think?

I like doing nice things for people. It makes me happy. I don't think that you can do something nice for someone else without it making you feel good. I love giving presents. I like it when I see things and think of someone for birthdays or for Christmas or just because. It's always nice to receive presents of course, but I like giving them more. It doesn't have to be expensive, I think the best sort of presents are homemade ones. Little things that someone has put some thought into. Some time and effort has been made and you know that it's just for you. I get something out of that though. Whether it be a gift or a simple act that is purely for someone else's benefit, I think we still get something out of it. I can't actually think of anything that is truly altruistic. Feel free to share if you can... I'm curious!

I'm also fussy about cutlery. I can tell you won't be surprised by this. When I go for dinner at my parent's house, the table is usually set and I steal the fork that's at my Dad's chair because it's the fork I like. I don't like to eat dessert with a big spoon, I like a teaspoon. I'm fussy about the cutlery I use at work, I keep a certain set in my drawer because I don't want to share my cutlery with other people mostly cause it's never washed properly at work! I don't mind so much when I visit people although when I'm in a restaurant I check it's clean before I use it. Borderline CDO?! I'm a creature of habit. I have a lot of quirks.

Yesterday when I got to my brother and his girlfriend's house, there was breakfast on the go but I had to get GB to brush the flour off the roll before I could touch it. The thought of touching a roll like that makes my blood run cold. A bit like the chalk on blackboard effect. My Mum has a brush in the cutlery drawer at home specifically for brushing flour off rolls.

The whole touching chicken without gloves on makes me shudder too. When I chop chillies I wear gloves. When I make scones I wear gloves... flour and butter together? Up my nails?! BLEURGH!!

I have no idea why I'm telling you all this. I just am.

These are spoons that are in the cabinet in my hall. I may give them a well overdue clean at some stage and blip them when they're all shiny. I have a number of random items that I sort of collect. I have no idea why. I like them. They're old. Random cutlery blip!

155 sleeps!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.