Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

Final Frontier

When I was a young Trekkie - as opposed to an old Trekkie - we had a joke. "How many ears does Mister Spock have?" Two? Wrong, he has three ... his left ear, his right ear and his final front ear.

Cue intro ... stellar music ... Captain Kirk... "Space ... the final -".

Well if I need to explain it you probably won't enjoy it anyway, as the man said on a one night stand when outlining his particular sexual peccadillo; which prompts me to explain this whole trekkie thing as being linked to the fact that there was an episode of the original series on tonight where Scottie falls in love with a bright young female lieutenant in the traditional first series micro dress. Perhaps it was the way she whispered "beam me up" seductively into his ear ... no ...

Had a glimpse of my final frontier workwise today when we discussed the impending closedown next April and the rapidly expanding probability of large numbers of redundancies ... myself included ... ah well. Fact is I've never been busier or more pressured. Ironic. We will be putting thousands of NHS managers out of work soon. If it was a steelworks closing or a factory forced out of business and so many people left jobless there would be BBC headlines and cries of "shame" but not in our business ...

End of rant. The trick is not to feel bitter but to get out there and explore new worlds and new civilised workplaces .... or as Jean Luc Picard said: Engage!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.