Steve Kirkham

By SteveKirkham

I think my doctor is trying to kill me

In a fit of boredom, I had a read of the blurb that comes with my medication. I'm on 5 different tablets a day, but this may change this week because I've got a medication review booked with the doctor.

Each leaflet has 6 sections, including what's in them, what they're for, how to store them etc. The one that amuses me is “How to take ….”. I would have thought is was quite simple, put in your mouth and swallow, unless of course it's for use at the other end.

So why do I think the doctor is trying to kill me? Its the lists of possible side effects. These can range from headache, joint swelling, dizziness, shortage of breath, constipation, itching, bleeding, etc., the list goes on, and on, and on.

Some of them can cause hearing loss. I'm already deaf, so how would I know if it's a side effect or not?

Then we get to the serious stuff, gynecomastia, (breast enlargement in men, that could be interesting), jaundice, kidney problems, depression, anorexia, hepatitis, or the really serious heart attack or stroke.

Like I said, I think my doctor is trying to kill me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.