Expecto Patronum

That's what the orchestra shouted to let the audience know it was time to take a photograph. Gracious, I was in heaven this evening. This concert was amazing! The first two parts was selected music from all eight Harry Potter movies. The third part of the concert - yes, three parts! - was a selection of hero scores by John Williams. Everything was great, but I guess my favourite had to be this one. I know I was smiling like a total nutter while that played. My second favourite was this one. I was really pleased that the conductor chose to play the end theme to Indiana Jones and the Temple Of Doom rather than the usual Raiders of the Lost Ark because it includes the magical Route To Pankot Palace and Short Round's Theme. Another reason why he chose the Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom end theme, I imagine, was because he had already played Marion's Theme, another highlight of the concert for me, and Marion's Theme  makes up a large part of the end theme to Raiders of the Lost Ark.

When it came to the encore, the conductor said he had a very hard time choosing a John Williams piece to play. He finally decided upon this, A Tribute To Film Composers, which is just brilliant! I was really pleased that just one score received a round of applause when it appeared in the midst of the 23 scores included in this medley. Can you guess which one? It happens to be one of my favourite film scores of all time and it happens to have a Japanese connection.

If I could add one score to that medley, it would be this one. What would you add?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.